Is there a problem with your vehicle’s Colorado title? Was it misplaced, damaged, or stolen? If so, you should apply for a duplicate Colorado title through the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles.
If you ever intend to transfer ownership of your vehicle, having the title in order is important. This is the legal document that proves you own the vehicle. You can’t sell it, donate it, or complete your vehicle registration or renewals without it, so keep it safe!
What will I need to get a duplicate title in Colorado?
In Colorado, duplicate titles can only be obtained by the owner, lienholder, or an authorized agent. If you do not own the vehicle, you must become a “authorized agent” with notarized statements or power of attorney. To obtain a replacement title in Colorado, you must gather all of the necessary information and documents, which include the following:
- A Completed Duplicate Title/Lien Request and Receipt (Form DR 2539A)
- Secure and Verifiable Identification (for vehicles purchased on or after 7/1/2006)
- Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and/or Colorado Title Number
- $8.20 for a Duplicate Title Fee
- A Power of Attorney (Form DR 2175) (when applying on behalf of the owner of record)
If your vehicle has an active lien, you’ll also need a lien release. Unless the lienholder is an individual, the release must be on the lienholder’s letterhead. Photocopies and fax copies are acceptable, but they must include the following:
- Vehicle Make and Year
- Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
- Title Owner’s Name
- Agent’s Signature
- Date of Lien Release
- Signed under Penalty of Perjury
A lien release title costs $7.20.
If you are applying as a lienholder but the lien is not filed in Colorado, you must include a Power of Attorney from the owner.
In the case of repossession, you’ll have to include a Statement of Repossession (Form DR 2393) and a certified copy of the security agreement.
How can I apply to get a duplicate title in Colorado?
In Colorado, you can apply for a duplicate title online, in person, or by mail through the state DMV or your county’s DMV.
To apply for a replacement Colorado title online, you must already have an active title and have no liens against it.
NOTE: Online applications are not available to residents of Crowley or Hinsdale counties.
Apply by Mail
For mail applications, include copies of all required documents as well as the $8.20 application fee. Make your check or money order out to the Colorado Department of Revenue.
Send your application and fee to the following address:
Department of Revenue
Vehicle Services Section
PO Box 173350 Rm 147
Denver, CO 80217-3350
Apply in Person
To apply for a duplicate title in person, bring the required documents and fee to the following address:
Colorado Department of Revenue
Vehicle Services Section
1881 Pierce Street
Lakewood, CO 80214
You can also visit your county motor vehicle office with the necessary paperwork and the $8.20 fee.
How long does it take to get a replacement title in Colorado?
After submitting your application, you should expect to receive it within two to six weeks, though it may be sooner.
Out-of-state titleholders may be eligible for same-day service. Even if you are not an out-of-state titleholder, it is worth exploring whether same-day, over-the-counter printing is available in your area.